Please sign in to post.

Driving from France to northern Italy - Covid requirements

For anyone who's used to "lawyer-speak" or loves word puzzles, this post is for you! (Apologies in advance for the length of this post; relevant details are provided to help suss out any nuances.)

I could use your help to decipher Italy's Covid requirements for someone who is transiting through Italy for more than 36 hours from a D country like France after being in another D country like the U.S. 14 days prior (see full list of D countries farther below).

According to the Italian government, it sounds like we'll have to quarantine if staying in the country for more 36 hours -- this is what I could use help to decipher/confirm. Also, if this scenario matches your situation after Oct. 22 (when the rules went into effect), I'd love to hear how it turned out for you.

Here are the details:

This Italian government webpage ( indicates that:

(5) Any person transiting, by private means, through Italian territory for a period not exceeding 36 hours, with the obligation, at the end of that period, to leave the national territory immediately or, failing that, to begin the period of surveillance and trustee isolation in accordance with paragraphs 1 to 5 of Prime Ministerial Decree of March 2, 2021;

The info above is part of a longer web page that appears when answering the survey questions below:

  • You are entering Italy from… Your answer: "FRANCE"

  • Where have you been in the 14 days prior to your attempt to enter
    Italy? Your answer: "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA"

  • Are you a citizen of the European Union (Italian citizens included)
    or of a Schengen Country or their family member? Your answer: "no"

  • Are you a holder of long-term residence status in Italy or are you a
    family member of the latter, also resident in Italy? Your answer:

Countries in D list according to Italy:
Saudi Arabia, Australia, Bahrein, Canada, Chile, United Arab Emirates, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Israel, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (including Gibraltar, the Isle of Man, Channel Islands and British bases on the island of Cyprus) Republic of Korea, Singapore, United States of America, Ukraine, Uruguay, Taiwan, Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macao.

There are no replies to this topic.