Please sign in to post.

Colosseum tour

I apologize if this has been covered before. This is my first time posting. We prepuchased 4 full tickets (adults) for the Colosseum online. We wanted to book the underground and third tier tour for late afternoon on June 29th or any time on July 1st, but unfortunately it doesn't look like there are availabilities on Coopculture.it. It's not the easiest site to navigate and I'm not sure if I'm going about it the right way. Is it possible to book a tour once we get to the Colosseum to pick up our prepaid adult tickets and free children's tickets? Are these tours general tours that don't include the underground and third tier?

Posted by
305 posts

The June tours would have sold out on May 15th when they opened the availability for June. The July availability will open on June 19 at 9 am Rome time. They sell out quickly but worth the effort to be up and on your pc when it opens to get the tickets. I was on 3 pc's and a phone and it took about 2 hours to get through to get my tickets. Hopefully your travels will not have started at that point so you can get those July 1 tickets. The only other alternative to get them is a private tour. Good luck.

Posted by
9 posts

larlock - Thank you for responding. I will definitely try to go online on June 19th Rome time. Do they always open up the tours on the third Monday of the month?

Posted by
312 posts

You might check for night tour availability on Coopculture. The night tours don't go to the third tier, but they do visit the underground. I couldn't get underground/third tier tickets for my visit in late June, so I decided to do the night tour instead.

Posted by
15863 posts

You're welcome. Incooker. :O)
And really, do take a look at the evening tours if the daytime tickets are elusive.

Posted by
4152 posts