Please sign in to post.

Cell Phones in Italy

We are visiting Rome and Tuscany in April and wondered what is the most economical way to obtain a cell phone to make phone calls within Italy. I have an I-phone in the US but it appears that even by activating the sim card, the cost pe minute in Italy would be quite high. Is it possible to buy or rent a local cell phone once we get there?

Posted by
1021 posts

I have no personal experience, but I have read that prepaid sim data and phone costs are cheap in Italy. TIM is mentioned frequently. I suggest you research and post in the Itsly and Rome forums on Trip Advisor to get advice from the local experts.

Posted by
32228 posts

Daniel, There are a few options you could consider. Depending on which model of iPhone you're using, which network you're with and what you'll be using the phone for, it may be reasonably cost effective to use your phone in Europe. For calls within Italy, the cheapest rates will be with a phone purchased there. However, according to some recent posts here, it's now necessary to have a Codice Fiscale (local tax number) before buying either a Phone or a SIM card in Italy. It's apparently not difficult to get, but an annoyance I'd rather not deal with. You could also use a "travel SIM", either in your iPhone (if it's unlocked), with a cheap phone bought on E-Bay or with a phone purchased from the travel phone firm. In addition to the two companies mentioned in the previous reply, you could also look at Roam Simple, Cellular Abroad, Call In Europe, Tru-Phone, EuroBuzz or others. Happy travels!

Posted by
11294 posts