Please sign in to post.

Airfare to Italy July 2019 from Chicago

Hello Everyone,

I know this is the question that really doesn't have a good answer but I'll ask it anyway. A group of 5 of us are going to Italy next year in July. I know, I know, busy time, I can't change when we are going because I'm a school teacher, I have a 13 year old son and its for my parents wedding anniversary. Anyway. What is a good time to buy tickets? I started looking a month ago and saw British Airways for 1037.00 I thought for that time a year was a great price but MY HUSBAND insisted it is way too early to purchase the tickets so I listened. Now I checked yesterday and the same ticket is 1400.00!! Ugh I should have went with my gut and made him buy them. Is there usually a fluctuation is prices and would that price ever go low again or will it continue to rise? Any advice would be welcomed.
Grazie
Gina

Posted by
672 posts

I would set up a kayak alert to send you every day for your flights. I have had one up for 1.5 years, and I finally got the dates and price to where I want them, so I bought a RT from Atlanta for $548! Chicago is a popular airport for Europe trips (when I lived in Italy, I took half of my flights through there), so I don't doubt that they COULD go down.

I am sorry I don't know what the best prices are for Chicago, but Kayak could help. I looked at my flights today (I was looking up seatguru stuff) and the same flights were $1880! I have seen a lot of variation in prices, so I would start looking now and jump when you see a good price.

Posted by
27104 posts