Please sign in to post.

2012 will be our first time to Italy... any books/website to visit for info

Complete newbie to questions pertaining to Italy, so please be kind! 2012 will be our year to visit Italy. I'll start looking up where/when to go, but are there any great books/sites you found which will help me in our info gathering? We are not argyle-sock wearing tourists happy to stand in line for hours outside of the popular sites just to mill about listening to about the history of a stone wall.... yeah. We want to rent a car, hit the road and stay in local towns with the locals.

Posted by
174 posts

I know you'll have a wonderful trip. First, buy the Rick Steves books: Europe through the Back Door and the latest Italy book, and read them all the way through. Then, as you narrow your itinerary down, you can get others. His guidebooks give you all the practical information you could possibly needhours, prices, what's worth doing and what's not, where to stay, etc. He covers most of Italy, but not all. Then get a good map so you can mark where you're going. And don't try to do all of Italy in one tripyou'll be coming back. We found Karen Brown's guides to B&Bs and inns very good when we went to southern Italy and Sicily (after we eliminated the stupendously expensive ones!). And with a car be prepared to get lost. It happens. Sometimes you find nice places that way, but it is disorienting at the time.

Posted by
1446 posts

Try slow trav - lots of interesting info & postings for Italy.

Posted by
7737 posts