Please sign in to post.

1st Time Italy Trip - Fall or Spring

Hello there!
I am new to Rick Steves (and tour groups in general) and am looking to book my first trip to Italy as a solo traveler. I am trying to decide between early September of 2024 (Heart of Italy tour - Rome, Volterra, Cinque Terre, Florence) or waiting until spring of 2025 (end of April into early May - for the Best of Venice, Florence, Rome tour - which was my original 1st choice).

I am wondering if anyone has any strong recommendations/thoughts about either tour and/or either season. I would love to go in fall (closer) but am a bit apprehensive about missing Venice on my first trip. Based on my interests, I do think the stops on either tour would be amazing. Just hung up on that Venice piece and wondering if anyone can share input that might help me with my decision.

Regardless of tour, I would stay an extra night in the beginning, so as a first time solo traveler in this format, wondering thoughts on being in either Rome a pre-tour night (Heart of Italy tour) vs Venice (Best of VFR tour where we'd already be staying 3 nights as part of the tour).

Thank you for anyone that takes the time to share their experiences/thoughts!

Posted by
2257 posts

Welcome to the forum! You'll have a wonderful trip whichever one you choose.

I'd vote for Venice, but my main reason for traveling in spring rather than fall is the longer days. I've been to Italy many times, but last year when I went in September, I really noticed the difference. Maybe part of it was because I am now traveling solo and am less interested in going around alone after dark.

Posted by
23562 posts