Please sign in to post.

1st time in Rome Feb. 2012

Hello this is my first time going to rome and i am so excited !! I have been doing prior searches for the last 4 months to know exactly what i will be doing in rome. I was going to rome, from feb. 18 to the 24 i will leave the 18 from bos and arrive the 19 to rome. Here in boston its cold during the winter but i wanted to know if any travelers have been to rome during this time was it worth it? Any reccomendations for hotels in rome for me 3 to 4 stars is fine. any other details on your trip to rome to help me plan that will be amazing thanks in advance. !!!

Posted by
203 posts

First sugeestion regarding weather is to go to www.wunderground.com. On that site you can use the "history" function to see what the weather was like during that same time period, in previous years.

Posted by
3696 posts

I was there a few years ago at the end of Feb. and although it was chilly and windy, the sun did shine. Plenty to do indoors if its too cold to walk around...and if that is the only time of year you can go, there are fewer tourists and a week in Europe on vacation is better than a week home working. I prefer April & May, but again, would go any time I can.

Posted by
7737 posts

There's a great online app at weather.com that will allow you to compare Boston weather with Rome weather side-by-side. It's a pretty slick tool. And just fyi, the star system for hotels in Italy is not an indication of quality - it's an objective indication of facilities and amenities. For example, whether there is an elevator, parking, 24-hour front desk, etc. There are 2 star places that are MUCH nicer than 3- or 4-star places. You have to do your research. Have a great time. You'll never run out of things to see and do in Rome. Do buy the RS Rome book. It will be the smartest money you'll spend on your vacation, especially for a first-time traveler. Happy travels.

Posted by
26 posts