Please sign in to post.

Driving in Sicily

Any tips for driving in Sicily? I am a safe driver with around a million miles driven in the US- but I've never driven outside of the country (I've also driven many different types of vehicles).

I know I'll be driving a van- most of the time in the rural areas of northeastern Sicily, but will also be driving in other areas. I also picked up my international driving permit.

I've heard that the roads can be very narrow.

Posted by
10344 posts

But not to dwell entirely on the negative: Somebody did post here that they actually drove a van in Italy, and they lived to tell the tale. However, they also mentioned $150 per gas station fill up, $8.50/gallon and a big tank will do that. Because your American credit card may not work at rural Italian gas stations, have enough cash on you to pay for gas.

Posted by
440 posts

Bob, I did stare in amazement at a few trying to get their RV's into the old part of Monreale. But I presume your van is for the archeological equipment and won't be as large. Yes, the some roads may be narrow and in places, hairpin corners. Truck/bus drivers generally toot their horns on such corners to indicate their presence on the road. You will hear them as you drive to Erice. But the back roads offer much better views and places to stop, admire, and photograph.

Posted by
93 posts

Yeah... for the equipment and team members/students. We will have more than one vehicle.

I'm expecting a smaller European passenger van with a stick shift (from talking with my boss). Not a problem- Most of the cars I've driven were sticks, including a couple of old vans.

I've heard that in some areas, the local drivers drive, shall we say, rather wild. I'm also curious about differences in roads, etc. I plan on reading up what I can before I go- but would also like tips from people who have driven there.

Posted by
440 posts