Please sign in to post.

driving from Florence to Rome

Hello! I'm going to Italy in mid-october this year.
I'm trying to rent a car from europcar for 2 days. Pick up in Florence, then drive down to tuscany for 2 nights, then head to Rome!
I'm slightly apprehensive of driving in major cities because it's my first time driving in a foreign country.
What are good locations for pickup and drop off in Florence and Rome?

Thanks!

Posted by
11247 posts

We lived in Rome for several years and I shuddered to drive in the city. WE did not own a car, merely used sharing services and one day while on an errand I hit a wall and said NEVER AGAIN!

In your case I would pick up a car either at the Florence Airport or in Via Borgo Ognissanti, but it does depend on which company you rent from. I would drip it off in Orvieto and take the train to Rome for the most stress-free arrival.

Posted by
8091 posts

Rent from Hertz and you can turn the car in at Orvieto. They have an office on Sansovino which is about a 2 mile cab ride from the train station in Florence. They'll give you a map that gets you out of town without getting close to the central city ZTL.

The Hertz office in Orvieto is just across the parking lot from the train station, and it's then a 70 minute train ride into Rome Termini. Orvieto's also a great hilltown to visit. We drove down from Siena, and the roads were great--4 lanes and interstate quality.

Posted by
23177 posts

Florence is in Tuscany so where are you driving for two nights?

Posted by
20 posts

I will be staying in Castelnuovo dell'Abate for 2 nights.
Would you say driving in rome is equivalent or worse than driving in NYC?

Posted by
315 posts