Please sign in to post.

Airport Security

Does Rome airport allow Opt Out of scanner? I would prefer to have an alternative means of security screening such as a pat down. Why you are wondering.... I am a healthcare professional and would like to limit my exposure. Thanks if you have any info

Posted by
23177 posts

We have exited Rome a number of times and don't remember seeing that option but I am sure it is available. Just ask. Europeans in general have similar reservations as US travelers so you will not be the first.

Posted by
11027 posts

I am a healthcare professional and would like to limit my exposure.

To what?

Posted by
1662 posts

I think gm may be referring to the radiation emitting from the scanner. Out of curiosity, I asked a similar question at Heathrow security. I was told that "I could refuse the body scanner, but I would have a very thorough pat down and a very thorough bag search -- all things taken out and inspected."

The scans are barely seconds.

gm,

This post is from one of our forum regulars (Rome/Italy who is also an expert on Trip Advisor. Someone asked this question.

Here is her reply:

1. Re: Are there body scanners in FCO for flights to US? Mar 24, 2018, 8:07 AM

They use the full body scanners and you cannot "opt out" like you can here in the States. Also, there are lots of guards around with machine guns for security.

Donna

I hope that answers your question, gmd51.

link: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g187791-i22-k11391024-Are_there_body_scanners_in_FCO_for_flights_to_US-Rome_Lazio.html

Posted by
5239 posts

I'm more concerned about the risk from mobile phones than airport scanners even if you are regualrly exposed to radiation as a result of your job.