Please sign in to post.

A month in Ireland spring 2022

I am planning a month long trip April/May/June 2022, dates are flexible. I have been there twice-1979 and 2015. I’m a genealogy hobbyist. Initial plan is a week in Dublin-planning to do some genealogy or I wouldn’t stay this long. Non luxury hotel recommendations? I’ll need to spend a couple days in County Carlow where the ancestors were from (Hacketstown). The rest of the trip in the countryside. I’d like 2 bases to stay in. I’ll have a car when not in Dublin. I’m thinking Galway area and maybe Killarney for bases though I’d really prefer to be outside those main cities. Looking for small cities to base out of and any lodging links you might have. Thanks!

Posted by
1448 posts

You might try something like my friend did: She wanted a writing retreat in Village England; so she negotiated a month at a B&B...taking the smallest room, and she offered to help with setting tables and plate pickup when needed. She has become life long friends with the Landlords and they still exchange visits.

Posted by
2822 posts

Most here would advise against staying in Killarney - too much of a congested mess even during shoulder season. There are a couple of better options:
Can find a place somewhere in the stretch between Glenbeigh and Castlemaine located northwest of Killarney. It's about halfway between Dingle and the National Park but in a much more relaxed country setting. From there it's an easy day trip by car to explore the northern half of the ROK, the Skellig Ring Road, Valencia Island, and the exquisite Gap of Dunloe, or less than an hour in the other direction is Dingle and Slea Head drive. With that much time time to spare you could also explore the northern part of the Dingle peninsula - a beautiful area in its own right but one that's overlooked by most visitors.