Please sign in to post.

Traveling to Greece

This is my first time in Greece and I will be in Crete starting 7/4 through 7/22, because I don't drive is it easy to get around Crete without a car and to any nearby islands?
Is there an alternative, in expensive option to tour Crete and any closer islands without a car? If so, what are the best sites for arranging and buying necessary tickets or car / taxi service ?

I will be with friends the first week I'm there and then I will be travelling alone. Since I will be departing from Heraklion CR, Greece on 7/22, I will use Crete as a base.

Are there any nearby islands close to Crete that are easy to get to either as a day trip or maybe spend overnight?

Posted by
1151 posts

I stayed in Chania and relied on the bus to get me to various parts of the islands. The service is good but if there is any possible way to rent a car do so.

If you really want to see Crete, especially the more out of the way and more traditional areas then you'll need a car.

There are various tours available but they can be pricey . . . so can using a taxi.

Since my trip to Chania I now rent a car where ever I go in Greece.

If you can't drive or rent a car then you can check out this website. I don't know anything about it but it offers tours:

https://www.getyourguide.com/chania-l1807/day-trips-tc172/

Posted by
1350 posts

Good link from tommyk. Indeed the KTEL bus service is extensive in Crete. While a car gives you flexibility you will not regret using the bus. You can visit any travel agent in Chania, Rethymnon or Heraklion. they all sell guided tours. I would suggest from Heraklion you find one that takes you to Phastos, Gortyz and Matala.

Knossos, Phastos and Gortyz https://www.flickr.com/photos/stanbr54/sets/72157645085297380/

From Chania you can do the long day hike to the Sameria Gorge. The excursion will include a bus trip to the top of the gorge, the 16km hike down the gorge, ferry along the coast and the bus back to Chania.