Please sign in to post.

Planning solo 75th birthday trip to Greece May 2018 for 8-10 weeks

I am a retired USA teacher that loves budget style travel to new places. I have more time than money!! I have been to Athens/ Santorini /Mykonos in 1988 and thought it's time to return to Greece and see some other spots. I will fly in/out of Athens. I do NOT plan to rent a car. I want to use bus/ ferry transport although I realize I might have to consider short flights. I would like to rent rooms for 20-30 euro ( or less) with shared kitchen. Private bath and balcony would be a plus. I like to stay 3 nights or more in each place to avoid being on the move too much. On past trips I have used bookin.com and airbnb. I like small family run lodging the best. My focus: seaside walks, historical sites, café people watching, time to read! I plan to take short tours to visit places not easily reached by public transport. I am open to any and all suggestions. I find on line forums offer a wealth of info to supplement guide books such as Rick Steves + Rough Guide. Some destinations I am researching include:
Nafplio/ Monemvasia/CRETE/ / Syros/ Naxos/Antiparos/ Milos/Delphi...not sure about RHODES I need more input. Do you have a favorite hotel or restaurant in any of the above destinations? My daily budget for food/room/admissions is $60-70 per day so dinners have to be 10-12 euro max. Is it common in small towns to have set menu prices at lunch?
looking forward to hearing from independent travelers.

Posted by
882 posts

I've never been to Greece, so I can't help you in that realm. But, based on your post, you are absolutely my kind of traveler. I compliment you on your obvious enthusiasm and determination. I can only hope that when I reach your age I will have even half your spirit of adventure. Bravo!

Posted by
122 posts