Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Check-In

My mother (75) and I (50) will be traveling to Greece for the first time in September. I'm a veteran traveler, just navigated a trip through Germany and Austria this month, so realistic about jetlag and time to move between locations. She's super easy-going, and mobility isn't really an issue, although we're not planning for anything super strenuous. Looking for input on our general itinerary. Priorities are exploring something interesting, good food, and doing it all at a reasonable pace. We will have a rental car until our return to Athens, where we'll ditch it for the last few days.

Day 1: Arrival from U.S. to Athens (1 night)
Pick up rental car at airport and stay overnight at hotel in Pallini, about 15 minutes away

Day 2-5: Nafplio (3 nights)
Drive to Nafplio, visit Corinth, Mycenae, and Epidaurus on the way
Two full days in Nafplio

Days 5-7: Monemvasia (2 nights)
After drive, day and a half at Monemvasia Castle

Days 7-9: Mystras (2 nights)
Possible stop in Gytheio on the way

Days 9-13: Athens (4 nights)
Arrive late on first day, depart early on last, so three full days in Athens
Right now, I am scheduled to return our rental car to a city office within walking distance of our hotel. Is that crazy? I am comfortable driving in big cities with aggressive drivers, but is this nuts?

Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Posted by
4855 posts

My only pause was over Day 2-5: Nafplio (3 nights)
Drive to Nafplio, visit Corinth, Mycenae, and Epidaurus on the way
Did you mean see all three en route? None are particularly grueling, but maybe play it by ear and visit one from Nafplio rather than all in one day?
We skipped Corinth, and we spent the most time at Mycenae.