Please sign in to post.

Greece Itinerary Review

Hi,

We plan on taking our trip to Greece (finally) after having to cancel due to Covid.

Would anyone be so kind to let me know if my itinerary sounds good? It is just my husband and I, (about 60 years old) and love the outdoors. (I am a photographer so the more scenic areas to visit, the better.)

USA to Athens fly to Santorini - Thursday, 4/21/22 - 4/25/22 - 4 full days
Santorini to Paros Tuesday, 4/26/22 - 4/29/22 - 2.5 days
Paros to Mykonos Friday, 4/29/22 - 5/1/22 2.5 days
Mykonos to Athens Sunday, 5/1/22 - 5/4/22 2.5 days
Flying back home. Wednesday 5/4/22

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

Posted by
2922 posts

Can you fly into Santorini from the US? If your flight to Athens requires a connection check to see how convenient and the cost of flying into Santorini instead.

Posted by
1353 posts

Well you have chosen highlights but Greece is a place that is better done slowly with less hops so one can really have a more in depth experience.
Personally I would do 3 days in Santorini because that's all my budget can take.
I would drop Mykonos. While it is quite nice it has marketed itself as a high end jet set destination so you are paying Santorini prices for an island that is not better than Paros.
Add that time to Paros and perhaps another day in Athens.

Having said that your plan works logistically as all these islands are in the same island chain with relatively short ferry hops. You probably should consider flying from your last island to Athens because thats about a 5 hour ferry trip. Check Aegean/Olympic or Sky express.

Posted by
84 posts

Thanks Mary Pat...didn't even think of flying directly to Santorini. Unfortunately, that is a 33 hour total travel time so that won't work. Thanks for the idea though.

Posted by
84 posts

@stanbr
Thank you for those thoughts.

I'm thinking the main reason I want to go to Mykonos is the take photos at Little Venice. Maybe I could cut a day out of Mykonos.