Please sign in to post.

30 Days in Greece in May 2018 - First time

Hello, I'd like some ideas for an itinerary and any helpful suggestions in general about traveling in Greece.

What makes more sense starting out in Athens/Peloponnese and ending on the Greek Islands, or vice versa? Does the weather play a role in this? I'd be there from beginning to end of May.
Here's some info about myself and my preferences: I am an older woman traveling solo. However, I'm physically fit and have a lot of energy.
I like to slow travel - spending enough time in each destination to really get a good feel for it. So I like staying put in one place at least 4 nights, longer in the bigger cities or places with lots to see and do. I am a seasoned traveler. I've been doing this kind of travel continuously for almost 3 years now (since I retired) - staying up to 2 - 3 months in some places at times.
I like staying in walkable places where everything I need is within 5-10 minute walk. I also like hiking and could go for short scenic hikes of up to 2 hours moderate level.
I won't be renting a car so public transportation would have to do for me.
I get easily sea sick so I'd have to fly the longer distances and perhaps take a high speed boat for no more than 1 or 2 hours. So cruising is out for me.
I don't usually go for large group tours, but would be amenable to day trips on small tours to some of the sights. That said I wouldn't be opposed to a 3-4 day guided tour if it looks like the best option, as long as the cost is reasonable.
I'm looking for most scenic, historic/archeological, charming and picturesque places. I like chilling on beautiful beaches but don't plan on going swimming.