Please sign in to post.

Trip to Germany early Oct 2019

My wife and I will be going to Germany for about 2 weeks the beginning of October. We have never been out of the US before so we are scared and have a lot of questions. I have read almost everything on this site about Europe. We will be staying with family in Stuttgart and should have access to a car. We are also not opposed to going on a train or riverboat. Obviously, with free accommodations we want to stay with family as much as possible. We want to hit some of the big bucket places while there also. I'm a car nut with at the moment 7 vehicles for just us 2. I have a BMW and an older muscle car. So I want to see car stuff some. Wife loves castles and we both love the ocean. I'm just getting started and have a notepad full of notes. My cousin and his wife will take off and travel with us some but at other times we will be on our own. I'd like to go to Munich. Would like to take a hopper flight to Italy or somewhere like that. I don't know the best place to go if we can go one place away from Germany. Cousin talked about driving to Austria. He will have lots of ideas and things for us to do I'm sure. We are in our late 40's and me very early 50's. Neither of us are in very good shape so hikes and things like that are out. Short walks are fine.
So I guess I'm just looking for suggestions and maybe others like us that have went. Thanks so much for the wealth of information on this site!
Rob

Posted by
331 posts

Around Stuttgart there are several car things to do. We really enjoyed the Mercedes Museum (one of the best museums I have been to) and the Porsche Muesum. In Böblingen (right outside Stuttgart) there is a place called Motorworld that my hubby and dad had a great time walking through. They were like little kids in a candy store when they were finished.

Stuttgart is quite a bit aways from the North Sea and the Baltic, so maybe save them for another trip.

Posted by
2182 posts