Please sign in to post.

Trains

We have a very short time (4 nights, 3 full days) to see some Germany before a conference in Frankfurt in May. Here’s what we’re thinking: we arrive in the morning in Frankfurt (airport). We would like to get a train to Cologne and back, maybe staying in Cologne 4 nights. What is the best way to arrange this? I am a newbie to train travel in Europe. Would prefer not to rent a car. Hotel we’re considering in Cologne is the Motel One Waidmarkt. All thoughts appreciated!

Posted by
7825 posts

You can and should buy a roundtrip train ticket from Frankfurt airport (Flughafen) to Cologne (Koln) on the day you arrive. There are direct trains.
You can search the schedule and buy tickets on bahn.com. There is an ap you can use to buy tickets in advance once you are sure that you will be able to catch the train at the hour you want. You may need to use the German spelling for the city or stop.

Posted by
2330 posts

Check wether your airline is participating in the Rail&Fly program of the Bahn. So you could get a flexible train ticket for about half of the standard fare.

Posted by
8434 posts

cdbusseau, you're right, a car is not necessary. Train travel is easy, and doesn't have to be micro-planned. Go to the German rail website, bahn.com, and you can input departure stations and destinations, dates & approximate times, and it will come up with all the available trains and connections. There are many trains a day that go up and down that corridor. You can buy tickets in advance, but also right there at the train station in the Frankfurt airport when you arrive. Its like the subway in New York, or a city bus system, where you might have to transfer, but its pretty easy to figure out. Look at the Travel Tips tab on this page, and the seat61.com for more tips.