Please sign in to post.

Torn Between Two Countries

Currently we have booked hotel stay in Munich for 3 nights in August...however I'm seriously thinking about changing my stay to Salzburg and doing a day trip to Munich. Munich is a place that I want to visit but the more I read about it I'm not sure that I want to stay there. I'm a sucker for mountains...can anyone tell me if the mountains views in Salzburg are superior to those in Munich? 3 nights isn't much time but I would rather wake up and go to sleep surrounded but the beautiful views rather than the hustle and bustle of Munich. I do realize that travel time will be extended due to the trip to/from the Munich airport. If however the views aren't what I think they might be in Salzburg proper then I won't change my plans and will visit the Swiss Alps some day in the future.

Thanks so much....

Posted by
1914 posts

I'm no expert, only spent a couple nights outside of Munich before our flight out, and only a day IN Munich city. I don't remember seeing any mountains from the city itself, but there are beautiful mountains very near Munich.

In Salzburg you will see mountains "when you wake up and go to sleep" and it isn't as much hustle and bustle either, but can still get crowded.

We love mountains and has seen several alp regions. You MUST get to the Berner Oberland someday.

Posted by
2907 posts

Hi,

If you want to see "mountains", you won't really see them from Salzburg (not high alpine scenery at least) and certainly not from Munich at all. Maybe in the far, far off distance on a good day from Munich.

Maybe stay in Munich for 1 night?

For beautiful mountain scenery, try Berchtesgaden and the area right around it (30 minutes from Salzburg). The Konigssee, the Jennerbahn cable car trip, Eagles Nest and so much more are in the immediate area.