Please sign in to post.

Security in Germany, 2017

Rick Steves has some new TV episodes about great German cities. During the discussion with PBS host personnel between episodes, Rick says that the refugee crisis in Germany is nothing to worry about and will not affect tourist travel.

Enjoy your tour and don't be frightened away from tourist sites, just be aware of what's going on around you and anticipate what might happen, so you can avoid it or get away from it safely.

I know some will disagree. I will only say that I was not a tourist or a visitor. I was a fulltime resident. And I kept my eyes and ears open, and read German newspapers and listened to my German neighbors and friends. Just the other day, the US State Department issued a warning about travelling in Europe, to include Germany. This is the reality today, sad but true

Posted by
23267 posts

I find it interesting when someone's first post is primarily to spread fear. So I don't how much creditability to give you or your posting. There are a number of regular posters here who live in Germany. It will be interesting to see their responses.

Posted by
17908 posts

14umbra, thank you for the heads up. What I saw in Cologne an Bonn last year didn't make me feel real comfortable either. It wasn't the homeless it was the healthy young men hanging out in groups of 4 or 5 on street corners and seemingly working the commuter trains. I've never felt particularly threatened by homeless. But then again, how I "felt" often has little to do with reality as my personal feelings define nothing, other than, well, my personal feelings. Still I have been under the impression that with something like 400 miles of border fences either built or being built and with changing attitudes, even with the German government, that things were going to be better this year. Lets wait an see. We might be surprised. I'm optimistic.

Posted by
7029 posts

Why James, are you expecting this thread to get entertaining? :)