Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Suggestion

Hello,
I am currently a student in Austria right now. Easter will be here soon, and I will have two weeks off for the holiday (April 13 to 26), and I want to spend that time in Germany. This is my first time there, what cities should I visit? How should I travel, by train, or plane? What airline or train should I use? If anyone could suggest an itinerary that would be really helpful.
Nicholas

Posted by
5581 posts

Do you like big or small cities? Where will you be traveling from in Austria? Germany is well served by trains. Without knowing more about you, I would recommend Berlin and Munich. Both would also have interesting day trip options.

Posted by
2208 posts

Germany is full of interesting local and regional cultures, history and sights / attractions. The official German tourist website gives you a good high-level entry into information.

There are also some important basic infos you need to know when traveling to Germany.

Your interests would help to make a relevant suggestion for you.

Around Easter traveling will be more expensive and intensive - Germans visit their families or do a loong weekend trip, e.g. to Berlin.

On Easter Sunday some regions (east and north) have the tradition of an Easter fire. You will find that rarely in cities (e.g. Hamburg), more on the countryside. In the larger cities you will find spring festivals, e.g. Hamburg Dom (do not be confused, just the same German word like for a cathedral).

Be aware that April 19 and 22 will be public holidays, means shops closed (besides very few at major train stattions of large cities). Everything else operates in Sunday mode.

Posted by
3 posts