Please sign in to post.

Christmas Markets

We are going to fly from the US into Frankfurt for the first 10 days of December for the German Christmas market experience. We can choose a few days in each city and I’m thinking Cologne and perhaps Heidelberg, along with the few days we’ll stay in Frankfurt. The train will be our transportation. I’m just beginning to plan, so I’d love some input! We are 68 yrs old and fairly active. Thanks in advance!

Posted by
1481 posts

It would help to know if you are also flying out of Frankfurt.

We (wife, 2 sisters and self) will be in Germany at the same time but flying into Frankfurt and out of Munich. This is our 5th visit and there are great markets all over Germany. We really like traveling by train as well. There is a little learning curve if you have not done so before; be patient and it works. Target your stops to places that you would like to visit otherwise and take the markets as a bonus.

While you are in Frankfurt, consider taking a walking tour with one this board's participants: Jo. It starts within a couple blocks of the main Christmas Market.

https://frankfurtonfoot.com

We really liked Würzburg and Mainz, both fairly near Frankfurt. That is not to say that they are better than Cologne (Köln) and Heidelberg.

Posted by
8942 posts

If you are staying in Frankfurt for a few days, you can easily visit these markets that are an hour or less from Frankfurt: Mainz, Wiesbaden, Limburg, Marburg or Seligenstadt. Heidelberg and Rüdesheim are a bit farther, but they are an easy train ride. These are some smaller markets held the first 10 days of Dec. (not sure if you are staying in Frankfurt at the beginning or the end of your trip)
Idstein – 2-4.12
Büdingen – 30.11-4.12
Gelnhausen – 8-11.12

Posted by
2406 posts

Choose cities/towns that would appeal to you without a Christmas market. Consider the markets as a bonus.