Please sign in to post.

black forest

OK...bingo....I got reservations for the Gastoff Hirsch in Gengenbach. My goal. Expect Konus card. So , what destinations on the black forest train?

Posted by
1559 posts

Depending on how much time you have. I'm no expert on the rail system but what I'd consider is 1) Take an early, slow train, via Donaueschingen, to spend the day in Freiburg. 2)Take the fast train to Bad Krozingen, walk along the stream - one hour, flat and pleasant - to Staufen, a delightful village with vineyards and a ruin up the hill. 3) Baden-Baden is worth a day if it is included in the rail pass. Some rail experts will likely chip in.

Places I've visited and liked: Endingen (small, pretty town, not sure if it is technically in the Black Forest), the villages of Schiltach, Loffingen and Sankt Blasien, hiking around Schluchsee and the Wutach Gorge. The hills are nice around Durbach and Munstertal. You may want to walk the Triberg falls, the town itself is not much to write home about. Not overly familiar with places east and north of Gengenbach, apart from Freudenstadt - it is famous for the size of it's market place, though not overly interesting in itself: however, there was an excellent brewpub on the square when I visited. Strasbourg is worth a visit across the border, you may incur an extra charge by rail?

Posted by
19100 posts

Just beyond the town of Hausach, in Gutach, is the Freilichtmuseum, a collection of houses from all over the Black Forest.

I'm not a gambler, and I think the spa in Baden-Baden is too sanitized, so I am not thrilled by Baden-Baden. When I was there I walked up a very glitzy street, kind of their version of Rodeo Drive. Also not impressive. I prefer towns in the interior of the Black Forest (Bad Herrenalb, Freudenstadt, Alpirsbach, Calw, Bad Wildbad) to Baden-Baden.