Please sign in to post.

Best camera for travel?

Hi all,
I’m a wedding photographer, and we are taking out third trip out of the Germany this year to Scotland. (Previous trips to Ireland and Italy). I always lug around one of my big camera bodies and lenses. But this time I’m looking for a more compact option. Something that will still allow for landscapes, churches and the odd sheep, and is better than my iPhone. Some one suggest me Fujifilm X-S10. According to a site https://www.digitalcameraworld.com/buying-guides/best-travel-camera.
Could you give me some insight into what you have taken along with you?
Thanks!

Posted by
100 posts

Hi, Tom.

If "landscapes, churches, and the odd sheep" are what's next, sounds as if you may be able to go "wide" most of the time.

For a full year on the road, I carried a Canon 450D crop with 18-55 and 70-300 glass. Some time later, I switched to a Canon 6D full-frame with 24-105; I also had a 50-prime as the sole lens on select days to lighten the carry or burden time.

A few years ago, I looked for a lighter compact option, and I gravitated to a lightly used Fujifilm X70. It's a fixed-prime that's a little wider (18.5mm/28) than Fujifilm's current X100 series (23mm/35). I had to get used to the X70 not having an optical viewfinder, but I've thoroughly enjoyed using the camera, given the total ease of carrying, snapping, and fiddling with the buttons, exposure dial, and aperture ring (there's no PASM dial). It's by no means a perfect camera, but its size and weight have meant a lot more fun.

I recently spent a month in Vienna, Austria, with the X70. At times, I missed having access to other focal lengths and there were a couple of occasions where I wanted to go "long". But I was very happy not having to lug a big brick-and-glass for hours, day after day.