Please sign in to post.

Southern France - Easter week, 2025

Hello - As a teacher, I have my vacation dates firmly fixed. I’m considering a quick 7 night spring trip to France. It seems like the cheapest flights from NYC to France are arriving in Paris. It also seems like the best chance for warm weather would be in the south of France. I’ve always been interested in seeing Marseille, so I’m thinking about landing in Paris and then hopping a train south for 3 or 4 nights before returning to Paris for the remainder of my time. It looks like the train is about 4 hours.

For those of you well versed in French travels, does this sound accurate? Are there more adjacent airports I should also be monitoring for fares? While I enjoy Paris, visiting there is not a requirement and I’d be happy to be in the south the entire week. Any advice, tips or recommendations anyone might make would be appreciated. Merci!

Posted by
1126 posts

redhead librarian,
You could fly to Marseille on one ticket, changing planes in Paris. There may even be direct flights to Marseille from NYC. If not, take a TGV to Gare St. Charles in Marseille from Gare de Lyon in Paris (about3 1/2-4 hours). And there are 5 or 6 trains ta day to Marseille from CDG. Marseille is an interesting city, with a history going back to the Greeks (called Massilia by them). Also, you could do trips to Cassis, Bandol, Les Baux, Aix-en-Provence, Nimes, Arles.....trains and buses are frequent. In Marseille you can take a boat to the Chateau d'If, or the calanques, visit the Basilica Notre Dame de la Gard, the Vallon des Auffes, the Museum of the History of Marseille, the Vieux Port, Le Panier district. Best things to eat in Marseille...bouillabaisse, pizza, pissaladiere, all things seafood, a huge variety of fresh produce (huge!), rose wines from around Bandol, Bouche de Rhone reds.....!