Please sign in to post.

Southern France

We are biking in Provence in mid Sept. We finish in Avignon. We have 7 days before we fly out of Barcelona. We would like to travel by train. I was thinking Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Carcosonne and Collioure before we head to Barcelona. Too much?

Question #2. We fly in to Paris. Plan on heading straight to Lyon and staying there 2 nights. Should we consider a Eurail pass? I would need to move on this quickly!
Thank you for all of your input!

Posted by
244 posts

I'm not an expert, but we just spent a month in France this spring. We purchased our train tickets through Captain Train. If you purchase them early you save a lot. I would not purchase a Eurail pass. I purchased our tickets, printed at home, very easy. Some tickets must be picked up at the train station, some you can print at home and if you use the app I think you can just show your ticket on the app. I didn't use the app so I'm not 100% on that. At the train station there are people available to answer all questions.

Posted by
4684 posts

Rail passes are probably not worthwhile if you are only going to be doing a couple of trips in France. France is particularly an issue for rail passes as long-distance trains are compulsory reservation, and only a small number of rail pass holders are allowed to reserve seats on each train - if that number is filled up you will have to buy a full-priced ticket.

You can get big discounts for long-distance journeys in France if you book three months or so in advance on the official site or on Capitaine Train as recommended above. However, the discount fares are strictly limited to specific trains, so it is not a good idea to book one straight after you arrive on a flight, as if your flight is delayed and you miss the train you will have to buy a new full-price ticket.

Posted by
68 posts

Thank you for the advice. I will look in to Captain Train!

Posted by
7175 posts