Please sign in to post.

Provence

Looking for an itinerary for maximizing our time in the Luberon. Home base will be L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue

Posted by
2186 posts

Length of trip? Time of year? Transportation method? We need more information in order to help.

Posted by
4 posts

Thank you. This is my first time on this forum and I appreciate the advice. We will be there 9/21-9/28. We have transportation. It is a family trip. There will be 15 of us. My husband and I have stayed in the region but this is a first for many of the other travelers. I jus want to make the best choices for them.

Posted by
6905 posts

In a week you have plenty of time to explore the region! Try to balance between the cute Lubéron Hill villages to the east (Gordes, Ménerbes, Roussillon... ) and the larger towns to the west (Avignon, Saint Rémy, Arles... ) for variety. Also, pont du Gard + Orange theater are a feasible day trip if that interests your crew.

Posted by
5697 posts

And are you planning for all 15 of you to do all sights together every day ? Multiple autos ?

Posted by
4 posts

We will have 2 vans and are not committed to doing everything as a group. What about for one day- Saint Remy, Les Baux ,Maussane-les-Alpilles for olive oil ? Lunch in Saint Remy?

Posted by
6905 posts

Yes, that works. Not sure what you mean by olive oil in Maussane (I guess you know of a mill?). Oh, and with a party of this size you'll have to reserve restaurants in advance. Phone is best, French small businesses aren't too good with email somehow.

Posted by
4132 posts

Isle-sur-la-Sorgue is well positioned for Luberon, butnot in it. You can also get to Rhone Valley sights. Personally I would try to include many of those! not just the ones you mention. But that's just me; obviously you should do what pleases you best, and doing that would not "maximize" Luberon time.