Please sign in to post.

High School Student Group Visit to Normandy April 2025

I am a high school history teacher who is co-planning and co-chaperoning a high school trip to France with my French teaching colleague in late April 2025. We want to do a day trip from Paris to the Normandy beaches. I know a one-day trip doesn't provide a lot of time, but that's what we have to work with. Can anyone recommend a local tour guide who can work well with 15 high school students interested in learning more about the D-Day invasions and the sacrifices made by the militaries involved? If you have other advice for transportation logistics to/from Paris, that would also be helpful.
Thank you very much!

Posted by
2422 posts

We.used HQCompany tours and they do provide for.small.to large groups..we had a private tour for just the two of us and have booked one for April for the four of us and they are customizing this tour since two of us already used them. they are great to work with. Our guide Yannic was fantastic. Which group you chose I strongly advise the students to watch The Longest Day. I believe most of it was filmed in the area. Look up the church in St..Mere Eglise.and the memorial to John Steele.which is hanging from.the. church steeple in his honor. You can take the train from Paris to Bayeau with no changes and they will pick you up at the station and drop off after the tour. I don't remember how long it took but I seem to remember about two hours. Mid way thru the tour they stop for lunch and
you pay your own way. Best of luck and I think this is a brilliant idea.

Posted by
750 posts