Please sign in to post.

Help with 2017 France Itinerary

Back to France in late May/early June for the first time since I was an exchange student in college there 30 years ago. Last May, we did a 17 day trip to Italy staying in just 3 places in Tuscany and Lakes District. (LOVED having the car to be off the beaten path.) For the France trip, We are thinking about moving around quite a bit more to see as much as we can, taking some inspiration from Rick's My Way tour itinerary with some changes. We are foodies and like a diverse trip with a bit of exercise, art, history and most of all meeting locals when we can and being a bit off the tourist grid.

First question: We will be flying San Diego to Copenhagen first where my husband has a conference. Not sure best way to do this. Fly SAN to Paris RT, then a budget airline to and from Copenhagen? Or, to save time backtracking in France, fly Copenhagen to Nice? Or perhaps even to Geneva since Annecy is on the itinerary? Here's what I'm thinking so far if we flew to Nice for a two week mostly driving trip:
Copenhagen to Nice (stay Riviera two nights? Where? Been to Nice, prefer quainter cities, Marseille?)
Drive to Arles, sleep 2 nights (see Avignon)
Drive to Annecy, sleep 2 nights Annecy, hiking in Chamonix
Drive to Dordogne (sleep 2 nights)
Drive to Poitiers (where I lived in college, sleep 1 night)
Drive to Loire Valley (sleep 2 nights, bike to a few chateaus)
To Paris (train? Drop car in LV?)
Sleep 3 nights Paris
Train/drive? to Bayeux for D-Day tour, sleep Bayeux
Back to Paris for last night (not sure where to stay) before heading home.

Interested in any suggested changes, must-sees in the areas or lodging recommendations. Thanks!

Posted by
27122 posts