Please sign in to post.

First time in Paris

Perhaps this is an impossible ask, but my daughter and I are going to Paris October 4-13. This will be my first time, and need to stick to a budget when it comes to hotels. Would love to have a clean, safe and comfortable room to sleep and have breakfast. We plan on being out most of the days that we are there.

Is there such thing as low $200's a night? Am I crazy to think this might be possible?

We have a Normandy day trip in the plans, as well. Suggestions have been 6th and 7th Arrondissements and Le Marais.
I am a novice traveler, and am very anxious. Help!

Posted by
745 posts

I can't offer any suggestions for a hotel in that budget, but I would absolutely give yourself a minimum of 1-2 nights in the Normandy region. A day trip is just not enough time. That way you can visit Mont St Michel and see the WW2 sites near Bayeux. It's a wonderful little town to stay in, and I feel like with the amount of time you have on your trip; a day trip to Normandy seems far too rushed. (You can find Normandy day tours since you are a novice and anxious traveler, so I wouldn't suggest renting a car for your situation.)

Enjoy your trip, and have fun with it! Telling you to not be anxious seems so condescending, but its not a good way to go into a trip. Just remember there's always a solution or work around for whatever you may encounter!

Posted by
1256 posts

Hi Lisa. Check out the Accor hotel chain. We've stayed there many times and always find them clean, safe, and comfortable. Website very easy to sort by location, price, etc. Looks like they have 111 hotels in Paris that fit your criteria. Note that in Paris, there are many nice neighborhoods and as long as your hotel is within a few blocks of a metro stop you can be anywhere in the city in minutes. Have a great trip!

Posted by
190 posts