Please sign in to post.

Christmas in Paris

Hello All! I am new to Rick Steves' Forum and I am looking for some input on a vacation I am planning. My husband and I honeymooned in Paris in July 2013 and we loved it. We loved it so much we decided to go back from December 23 - December 30 2014. I would have liked to leave earlier, but my husband's work schedule did not permit it. We will be arriving the 24th (Christmas Eve Day) early in the morning. Will arriving the day before Christmas cause us to miss out on Christmas themed happenings? Are there any specific places/restaurants/tours that you would recommend? Would you recommend staying in the 6th before the 1st and 2nd? Any input is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Posted by
10261 posts

I would recommend staying in an apartment. You will have more room to spread out, and you will likely find you will stay in more than you did on a summer trip. You would have the ability to eat at 'home' if necessary if you find things closed for the holiday. It doesn't get light until around 9:00 a.m. and it's dark before 4:30 in the afternoon. I don't know where you live or how used to the cold you are. Of course the weather varies from year to year, but I spent 2 weeks in Europe, including 10 nights in Paris that time of year. The warmest it got was 33 degrees. We definitely spent less time outdoors than we have on other trips. Fortunately there are many indoor things to do. Paris is beautifully and tastefully decorated that time of year.

I think the 6th is more centrally located, but the 1st wouldn't be too bad either. The closer to the river the better, no matter where you stay.