Please sign in to post.

Train travel questions

Been to the UK many times but drove all but 2 times. I'm a train novice. We have tickets to land at Heathrow in June - we are thinking of either flying or taking the train to Edinburgh. Also on the trip we will take day trips: to Berwick on Tweed from Edinburgh, to Perhaps Brighton or a coastal town, to Windsor all from London. Do you have a recommendation on what type of train tickets we should get when we're planning a long ride and other short ones? Thanks.

Posted by
1241 posts

It's always worth checking on a Split ticketing App that you are getting a good fare.
I have used this and sometimes the fare is half the fare that the nationalrail site posts,
To be on exactly the same train.

With the traveling you are doing a Two Together rail pass ,£30, is near certain to save you money too

Posted by
6608 posts

The UK National Rail website is: https://www.nationalrail.co.uk/#

The train to Edinburg is run by London North Eastern Railway (LNER) and departs from Kings Cross station. Upon landing at Heathrow take the Piccadilly line all the way to Kings Cross to catch the train. There are a number of different ticket options.

Posted by
16385 posts

Split ticketing may save you money on journeys involving more than one train, but not on direct trains with no transfers. I believe all the journeys she proposes are direct trains. For those I would just go to the Nationalrail.uk website and put in the journey to let it show te various options, then pick the one I like—-usually the cheapest. If you buy ahead of time, you can get Advance tickets which are the lowest fares, but be aware that these tickets are for a specific train only and non-refundable. We have always but these and have not ever missed our train.

Examples of fares from London Kings Cross Station to Edinburgh, a journey of 4-5 hours:

Lowest Advance fare I can find, looking now for a train 4 weeks out: £29.90