Please sign in to post.

London England

My son 22 yrs old is going to London in August, for Touring, then to Florence Italy for College. ( scholarship for one semester )
Where do I start to help guide him. I have never been out of country

1- safe place to stay.. low to medium priced..
2-transportation..how does he get around..taxi..bus..train
3-what to see..he will be there a week
4 how much money does he need for a week..
5 he is a great son.. but I have no knowledge of London

Help me advise him.. Thank you,
Andrew Ludwig, Bloomington Indiana, USA

Posted by
8378 posts

andrew, the best thing you can do is give him a guidebook (like the Rick Steves Europe through the Back Door, and then the specific county/city guide) that will cover such a very broad subject. He won't know what specific questions to ask until he has the basic information. People will be glad to help pin down costs, but you have to have some ideas of areas to stay in, expectations of comfort level, etc., to get more specific help. He's cut things pretty close for planning any trip in August.

Posted by
1321 posts

I'd assume at 22, he'd be an excellent fit for youth hostels. I'd also assume at his age with a limited budget but endless energy, he'd be using the tube and perhaps some buses. I can't imagine him needing a taxi. What are his interests? He might be more interested in bars and pubs and meeting people of his preferred gender than museums, but at least most museums are free, so that helps on a student budget. As far as how much money, what kind of food does he like? If he' a typical student, without high expectations, he can do quite well in London. I'd say he can enjoy himself easily on 75 pounds per day, and even 50 pounds per day would be fine. This does not include accommodations.