Please sign in to post.

London Art

We are London-bound this spring and I'd like to hear people's impressions of the various Art Museums there. Its been 35 years since our last visit. Mrs Z is a painter by hobby but is allergic to trip-preparation research. I am allergic to wasted time after flying across oceans, and so am trying to learn which are the absolute must-sees, as opposed to us going to every damn art museum just coz we feel we must. I am trying to point out to her some smaller options, say the Wallace Collection, as much for its cafe and great gift shop (she loves scarfs).

Any opinions about London Art Museums LARGE & small, renown or lesser-known?
I am done. the end

Posted by
27055 posts

I'm not an artist and have no training in art history, but I enjoy art museums, so here you go:

• The National Portrait Gallery is closed until 2023, so that's one you don't have to think about on this trip.

• The National Gallery is large and excellent. Unless you're willing to walk through every room no matter how long it takes (I have done that, but it definitely requires multiple visits for a museum this large), you should spend some time on the museum website, identifying the rooms/areas you're prepared to skip. I think the National Gallery would be must for any art-lover who likes traditional art. The museum is open till 9 PM on Friday. If you plan to visit then, stop at the information desk on your first visit to ask whether the entire museum, or just part of it, will be open late. I've encountered a few museums that are only partially open at night (often just the ground floor).