Please sign in to post.

Lived in London in 2007- What's New Today?

Super excited to be planning a trip in early December to London. My sister currently lives there (so I'll be staying with her), and I've always dreamed of visiting at Christmastime. I studied abroad in London from January to June in 2007 (at Queen Mary), and spent the 5 months there seeing as many sites as possible. I'm most curious about what is new/different from that time period. I've read some guidebooks to find what I don't remember or somehow missed (I'll have to try to see the Houses of Parliament on this trip!), but I was wondering what new sites have come out in the last decade that folks would recommend.

I'm not the best art person (although I've always had a special place in my heart for the Tate Modern, after going down their slides and riding their carousel during special exhibits), but I love history, museums, and theater (I'm working on my Cursed Child tickets now...). Thanks!

Posted by
27122 posts

One change is that the Churchill War Rooms are now monumentally popular, so if you want to see them or see them again, you should buy your ticket ahead of time to avoid a most unpleasant line. On the other hand, on the day I visited in September last year the Imperial War Museum was a walk-right-in sort of place.

Some of the large museums (including the V&A) are open late one night a week. I don't know whether that's new, but it's handy. However, in at least some cases only part of the museum is open past the usual closing hours (sometimes just the ground floor). You should inquire at the information desk upon arrival so you know how to organize your visit.

I bet London Walks has some new itineraries.

Posted by
6113 posts

The most popular sites have been around longer than a decade. The Sky garden is new. Some buildings will have been redeveloped, but much will be the same.

Posted by
1282 posts