Please sign in to post.

Harry Potter lovers' London

This post is meant for all you Harry Potter nerds (like me) out there.

I am headed to London at the end of the month and want to see some of the HP fan sites because, well, it's the series that got me captivated with all things British in the first place.

This is my first time in London and I will only be there for 5 days -- so I will be working to fit a lot in, but I'm debating either going to see Cursed Child on stage (which is an all day affair for Parts 1 & 2) or just heading to Warner Bros. studio for a few hours. I have heard good things about Cursed Child but I'm torn because 1) it would mean sacrificing almost 1/5 of the trip and 2) when I read the play, it did not ring true with the series I grew up loving. I'm one of those fans who struggled with it, to say the least! Is it somehow different/worth it on stage, or are there equally worthwhile ways to celebrate Harry in London?!

Thanks in advance!
Lauren

Posted by
3245 posts

I would do both the Warner Brothers studio tour and Cursed Child if you can get tickets. I say this because, if you really are a Harry Potter Nerd, you will kick yourself for the rest of your life if you didn't. Eventually "Cursed Child" will come to American theatres, but wouldn't you love to say that you saw it in London?

Posted by
357 posts

If you can get tickets for the play at a reasonable price for you, I would recommend going. If you can get tickets for the evening performances that would free up your daytime hours.

If you read the script as a book, I can see why you are unsure. The special effects and the stage production are excellent. It really has to be seen.

I've done both the studio tour and seen the play. If you can do both, I would. They just added the Forbidden Forest this year. There is also the House of Minalima, a shop opened by a couple of the graphic artists from the film with things for sale. It is located near the theater where the play is performed.