Please sign in to post.

Cell phones

Any problems connecting to Wi-Fi? We have ATT travel account, just had problems connecting in Victoria BC.

Posted by
32206 posts

WiFi should work anywhere and is not usually dependent on which network you're with at home. Any time I've had WiFi problems in Europe, they've resulted from poor WiFi systems in the hotels, which have limited range in some parts of the hotel.

There are several possibilities that might explain the lack of service you experienced in Victoria. What type of phone are you using? Perhaps they were using an older Router that didn't have some of the newer frequency bands or perhaps the Router was too far from your room? The newer WiFi systems that use Mesh topology are considerably more reliable. There's no way to know what type of systems will be installed in the hotels you use in Europe.

Good luck!

Posted by
84 posts

I agree with Ken. I'm a network administrator and take calls from our company's road warriors. Problems connecting to a hotel's WiFi aren't often due to your network or phone. They're usually due to how the equipment is configured in the individual hotels, or how a hotel chain manages how your traffic reaches the Internet.

As a test, go to a couple of places in your area that offer free Wifi and try to connect. Do NOT conduct any business or enter any personal information; these network are notoriously unsecure. Just get connected, maybe go to Google, and then log off. If you'll be staying at a major hotel chain, visit a local one. Explain what you're doing at the desk and ask if you can have the WiFi passoword long enough to test.

If having a WiFi signal is critical while you're there, contact your hotel and ask if you can get a room close to the router. They may not know where it is but it can't hurt.

Posted by
2507 posts