Please sign in to post.

ATM Fraud

Hi,

While in the UK, I would suggest using ATM's inside banks. I used an ATM, just once during a two week trip, outside of Russel Square station, and somebody got my card and pin number, draining my account $1,700 before it was noticed.

I'm not a newbie at travel. Still have no idea how it happened. Would also suggest checking your bank account daily while on holiday.

Posted by
3517 posts

Unfortunately, unless this was the only time you have used the card at all in recent history, there is no way you will ever know when or where that information was stolen. If you use the same card back home, any number of opportunities will have been presented to the thieves allowing them to collect the card info. You bank will never tell you even if they find out where and who and when the card was compromised. It is just an unfortunate coincidence that the theft from your account happened when it did. Hope your bank restores your funds quickly.

It is to keep aware of this type of issue that I have every alert turned on for my cards that they offer. Any use, any amount, any where, and I get an email and a text from the card issuer asking if the transaction was done by me. It sometimes gets annoying when I am having a bust shopping outing and I am constantly getting the messages, some requiring my response to allow the transaction to complete, but if it stops just one on this type of issue then it is worth it.

Posted by
2467 posts

In Rome, in 2016, I was at an ATM in an enclosure at a bank branch on a Sunday afternoon. A man rushed in, rattling me and reached over my shoulder and grabbed my ATM card right out of the bank slot. He was so fast and I was rattled that I did not realize he stole my card! I thought the machine ate it. I went to the bank on Monday morning to ask the Manager for my card and she said it is not here. That's when I knew.