Please sign in to post.

21 hour lay over in London on December, 29, 2014- where- what

I'll transit in London on the way to New York, from 14:30, Monday to 11:30, Tuesday. This is my first time to Europe. I'm a student and will travel with two other friends. I know it'll be after Christmas and before NY. Could you please give us some idea where to stay and how to make the best of our time in London during this holiday? We're in budget. It's very much appreciated.

Posted by
101 posts

Where to stay? Not sure if I can answer that, other than suggesting you research student hostels. As for what to see, that depends on your tastes and interests. I imagine I would take the Tube in from Heathrow and head for Westminster to see Parliament, London Eye, etc., and then head out to the Traflagar Square-Piccadilly Circus area. You certainly won't lack for pubs.

Posted by
1068 posts

I recommend the YHA hostel by St. Paul's Cathedral. Perfect location at 36 Carter Lane. Great old building with lots of history and character. It used to be the school for the St Paul's Cathedral choir boys! http://www.yha.org.uk/hostel/london-st-pauls It's about a 10 minute walk to Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace.

Or you could walk down Ludgate Hill and build your own fabulous pub crawl from there! The pubs are thick on Ludgate Hill. (Just avoid Ye Olde Cock Tavern. It's not friendly, and the service is sloppy.)

To make the best use of time don't worry about getting around to a lot of far-flung places. Stay in the tourist core, and walk rather than take the tube whenever you can - sightseeing is automatic when you walk!

Posted by
2 posts