Please sign in to post.

Bletchley Park

Has anyone been to Bletchley Park since it was reopened in May 2014? I am considering going there in May 2015. Has anyone taken the 2 hour guided tours of the Museum of Computing which I believe occur only on Tuesdays? Many Thanks in advance.

Posted by
449 posts

Hi Virginia:

I spent the day at Bletchley Park in August of this year. I went up with a group of about 60 people who were members of a London based meetup group (Cultureseekers). I spent some time looking at and inside the headquarters building and the huts, and then took the free 45 minute overview tour which, as I recall, did not enter any of the buildings, There is a replica of the Bombe at Bletchley so I did not take the time and pay the money to visit the museum which is a separate operation. I have told folks that several posters really require a high IQ to understand. I have a masters in biostatistics and still did not understand some of the code breaking techniques which were statistics based.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Posted by
32711 posts

I have been meaning to go the National Museum of Computing and Bletchley Park for several years. As a computer programmer who was writing code in the 1980s and 1990s I have a special afffinity for the National Museum of Computing.

I won't go at the moment because of philosophical differences with the management of Bletchley Park. A few months ago they fired all the exceedingly knowledgeable (free) volunteers at Bletchley Park because they had the affrontary to tell visitors about the computers in the National Museum of Computing which is on the same campus and used to be included.

These were mostly elderly men and women who understood from a personal viewpoint, having been through it, the significance of what they were showing and demonstrating and their loss is massive.

Both institutions hobble along but there is considerable bad blood between them and I won't go near the place at the moment.