Please sign in to post.

Dartmoor

Our amazing trip to the UK is shaping up. One area that we are considering spending a day or two is Dartmoor National Park. But I am finding myself a bit puzzled as I try to determine where the best hikes might be, or the best drives through the park. A national park in the UK is a very different thing, I think, than the parks to which I'm accustomed (certainly smaller!). Even Dartmoor's national park authority website seems to emphasize the villages and centers and historical sites (in this respect, I think the parks are similar to our eastern parks). But what I'm interested in are the outdoor vistas. Can anyone recommend locations for outstanding walks in the park? Or direct me to a website or map that emphasizes such? I especially want to see the dramatic tors and moors that have inspired so much literature about the area. (I'm an avid photographer.) Thank you! (Also, how does Dartmoor compare with Exmoor in beauty and ease of visit?)

Posted by
2396 posts

You don't say where your UK base starting place will be for Dartmoor. Exmoor has a coastline with very steep plunges to the sea.

National Parks in Britain are generally the more scenically attractive areas - and that includes farmlands & villages. As such, they have very strict planning policies. A farmer, for example, might not be allowed to build a shiny metal barn that would spoil a view or someone build a brick house in a village of thatch & cob. You do not pay a fee to enter British National Parks.

Posted by
9110 posts

How far can you, or do you want to, walk in a day?

Posted by
47 posts

I have no doubt that the national parks in England will be beautiful! That's why I want to go to one--my family and I are national park enthusiasts, so adding one of the beautiful UK parks to our "visited" list will be wonderful.