Please sign in to post.

Exchange rate

Does the exchange rate for USD to British Pounds seem to be worse during the summer time or is it just a crap shoot? Is it a trend in summer?

I am asking b/c I was curious if I should go ahead and just get the amount I want in Pounds now (say like 300) or should I wait to say 3 weeks before my vacation?

I plan on using my credit card mostly, but have heard it is a really good idea to have at least some hard currency in case of issues.

This is my first time travelling to Europe so I am kind of clueless! I am travelling in July 2014.

Thanks in advance!

Noah

Posted by
4535 posts

Crap shoot is an apt description of trying to play the exchange markets. There are people who spend their careers analyzing currencies and investing in futures; you won't be able to do that so don't bother trying. Plus you pay a premium to buy currency, which offsets any gain you might have lucked into.

Do you have an ATM/debit card? If so, bring it with you, notify your bank and use it just like you do at home. Credit cards might not always be accepted for small purchases and at small retailers. Using an ATM will get you the interbank exchange rate and you only pay whatever your bank charges you in foreign transaction and out-of-network fees, if any (about 1-4% total).

If you want to bring some pounds with you to start, just buy some a few weeks before you go.

Posted by
7511 posts

As said, a pure gamble. Added to that while there is much fluctuation, over time the actual percentage difference usually is pretty limited.