Please sign in to post.

Prague Jewish Quarter

I would be interested in hearing from people who have visited Prague's Jewish Quarter. How much time is needed to visit all of the synagogues and other sights without feeling rushed? Is it worthwhile to sign up for a guided tour, or can the area be experienced/appreciated just as well on your own? Any tips for beating the crowds? (I will most likely need to visit on a Monday afternoon). Thanks for any suggestions or advice!

Posted by
1220 posts

I have been and will be going again in May, fair warning with my advice though I have a masters in Holocaust and Genocide Studies and so am more fascinated than most. I would say for the average person if you want to see everything at least half a day with a little more after a lunch break. Definitely see the Pinkas Synagogue and wander through the cemetery. Make sure to visit the exhibits in the various synagogues and take time to process the enormity of what happened to this amazing culture and people. The Spanish Synagogue's decoration is stunning. And yes, you can do it on your own.

Posted by
3049 posts

I'd say a half day as well, and it can be done on it's own, especially if you have a good guidebook, but I think if I go back I'd probably take a guided walking tour.

Can't really beat the crowds if you can't go in the morning, unfortunately.

Posted by
808 posts