Please sign in to post.

Sofia Hotels

Hello people of the RS Bulgaria Forum, is anyone out there? I am a veteran of the RS Italy and Spain forums, but a newcomer to Bulgaria and this forum. I have just booked the RS Bulgaria Tour for September, and could use a little guidance. I am fortunate to be able to fly over on mileage, and to arrange that will arrive in Sofia for 5 nights before the tour begins, a great opportunity to explore. The tour spends its first two nights and its last night at the Crystal Palace Hotel in Sofia, which from its web site and reviews seems marvelous and certainly reasonably priced around US$80 per night. Ordinarily for nights before a tour, I love to book the same hotel as the tour, without needing to move. But for five nights, maybe some diversity of hotel and neighborhood would be good too.

I have spotted the Magic Castle Hotel, also seems very nice with great reviews, with an even lower price around US$50 per night. Do any of you know either or both of these, or perhaps recommend a different hotel in Sofia? I am NOT interested in real fancy or elegant or international chain hotels, but a nice friendly, comfortable, centrally-located smaller hotel, even B & B, to make my home as I explore Sofia and nearby areas. While I appreciate affordable and good value, I certainly am not choosing by price alone. Thanks, and if there are helpful folks on this forum, I'm sure I will be back with some more questions.

Posted by
17868 posts

Bulgaria is one of my favorite places. Maybe because it’s the number of tourists you meet, maybe it’s the people (love them). I’m “okay” with villages; some have been interesting, some not so and a few just somewhat disturbing. The further off the beaten track you get the more likely are the Turkish toilets which are “interesting”. We hit quite a few last year during our 7 day drive from Sofia to Istanbul.