Please sign in to post.

Travel Reward Cards: Capital One vs Chase Explorer vs Chase Sapphire vs ?

I know this question comes up somewhat frequently but it seems that the criteria for collecting miles and converting them into free seats changes just as often. Any suggestions on what is currently the best credit card/mileage program to travel Business Class? I've been using Chase United Mileage Plus for the last 7 years or so when traveling to Europe (using their partner airline Lufthansa) but I'm finding that there are way fewer seats available and I need more miles to get that Business Class seat. Two years ago my husband and I were able to travel in March business class going and 1st class returning. I haven't been able to find a deal like that since yet my cc spending is the same or more.

**I am also posting this in the General Europe section.

Posted by
485 posts

I've been on the point guy site all morning. Lots of info. Thanks!

Posted by
101 posts

I used to have the Chase United card, and switched to Chase Sapphire. I like it better because I can transfer points earned to a variety of airlines (though so far I have just transferred to United, because as you already know, they let you book flights on Lufthansa and Swiss). My only reason for staying with the United card would have been for the priority boarding and other perks, but I don't personally fly United too often. My reasons for preferring the Sapphire card:

1. Great customer service. Someone answers right away when I call.
  2. Ability to transfer points to a variety of airlines.
  3. Works well all over the world. The two cards may be equivalent in this respect, at this time. When I made the switch, the Sapphire card was offered with a chip, and the United card was not, so that factored into my decision-making.
  4. Premium-looking card that always gets comments, though I can't actually afford a true "premium" card :)