Please sign in to post.

ATM card

This is more of a question than a tip. AAA used to have travel ATM cards where they were not tied to my bank account, but instead, I put money on the card and I could take out cash at an ATM. I wanted to use it again for future trips, but I noticed that they don’t have them anymore.

I don’t use debit cards.

I have thought about setting up a separate account with my travel funds and use the ATM card for that.

What are others doing?

Posted by
7129 posts

I have a Capitol One ATM card that is just tied to a account where you preload funds. I just used it in Italy several times in the past four weeks. There was just one ATM in Stresa where it didn’t work; otherwise, it was fine.

Posted by
498 posts

I have a Capital One bank account that I use exclusively for travel. It has an ATM card and, at least in Italy, no fees are charged on either end. I've been using this account for at least 10 years and have always been happy with the euro/dollar exchange rate.

Posted by
553 posts

We have a Capital One 360 account that we use only for travel. I transfer money into the account a few weeks before we leave and we use the card as a debit card and ATM card. Exchange rates are very good and Cap One does not charge any foreign transaction fees. With the increasing prevalence of tap to pay you may have little need for an ATM to actually withdraw cash unless you want to.

Posted by
86 posts

Charles Schwab. No ATM fees, no foreign transaction fees.

Posted by
4 posts