Please sign in to post.

Japan

I've noticed there are a few of us looking into travelling to Japan soon. I thought it might be helpful to have a general Japan thread where we can share resources we've found. I'm aiming to visit in fall 2025. It will be our first time in Asia.

I'm just getting started, but so far I've found:

https://www.japan-guide.com/

https://trulytokyo.com/

https://www.insidekyoto.com/

Japan Walking Videos VioletVik

Japan Travel Videos Allan Su

Walking and Travel Videos Tokyo Explorer

4K World Wandering

Posted by
1924 posts

Thank you Mary

I am thinking of an Asian cruise for 2025 or 2026. Possibly there will be a Japanese port included.

like yourself I have never been.

Update: I went to ncl.com (Norwegian Cruise Lines) and there are 11 cruises leaving from Tokyo for 2015 should anyone have an interest.

Posted by
6898 posts

I am flying to Osaka on Saturday! I might report back if it is of interest!

Posted by
8378 posts

Thanks, Mary! Very helpful.

I’m taking a land tour through insightful vacations (Australia based) followed by an 11 day Sea of Japan Spring Flowers through Princess in spring 2025 so your info is very useful to me.

Posted by
7667 posts

We did a wonderful Celebrity cruise from Tokyo Bay to Hong Kong some years ago. Also, we spent about a week in Japan prior to the cruise, going to Nikko a bit north of Tokyo. Also, we did a three day tour by bullet train to Kyoto and Nara.
Do not miss Kyoto, it is amazing.

Posted by
1924 posts

Hi Mary

Thank you for the link. The author sailed Regent Seven Seas which is a luxury cruise line. it is one of those at the top but it is very expensive and not in my budget.

I am thinking that the excursions offered by her cruise line are superior but also very expensive or maybe included with the price of the cruise.

However, she offers many good tips.

I am glad that you started this thread.

Posted by
126 posts