Please sign in to post.

Florida 7 day trip August 2022

Yep, I know it will be hot and probably muggy but it is the only time my granddaughter (GD) is able to go. We are flying from Seattle. I have very little experience with travel in Florida. The only place I have explored is St. Augustine. Where would you suggest we travel? GD and I would like: nature tours to include fabulous birds, alligators and manatees; some beach time and yummy food we are not familiar with. We want to try and stay away from any high end resorts and/or party scenes. GD will be 12 yo at the time of the trip. We have 7-8 days. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Posted by
11133 posts

For unfamiliar food, would Cuban food be on that category? Lots of opportunities to try it there.
Look at Sanibel Island on Gulf Coast for great shelling.

Posted by
227 posts

August will be hot and humid and in hurricane season, but there are many natural areas you can visit. I assume you want to avoid theme parks. Plenty of alligators and water birds around then, but manatees are less visible in summer. On the Atlantic coast near Cape Canaveral is Merritt Island Wildlife Refuge where you will see gators and birds. Beaches at nearby Cocoa and New Smyrna are nice and less crowded. On the Gulf coast, Sanibel Island has good shelling and beaches. Inland are several springs including Silver Springs, Wekiva Springs and in the Ocala National Forest are Juniper Springs and Alexander Springs. The Saint Johns River from Sanford northward is very scenic.

Posted by
1917 posts

Hi Linda,

It is really going to be very unpleasantly hot and muggy but prices will be lower and it might be less crowded.

I have been to Miami, Miami Beach and Orlando. I can recommend all three cities.

I would also suggest trying Disney World and Universal Studios Park. You can stay at either park and take a shuttle to the other one. I have never made it to Disney World but have been to Universal Studios.

How about Cape Canaveral?