Please sign in to post.

Australia

Looking for information on traveling in Australia. Anyone can help?
Lyn

Posted by
2827 posts

Lyn,
A little more detail (actually, a lot more detail) is needed before anyone here can offer useful advice. Might suggest that you peruse a few guidebooks, put together a notional itinerary, and then return with specific questions that you may have after you've researched things a bit.
More detail regarding such things as your particular interests, the season and duration of your proposed trip, whether you'll be renting a car, etc would be helpful too.

Posted by
160 posts

I'm no expert but I hear walking to Australia is impractical.

The wife and I are looking on going there next year for our 30th wedding anniversary. We looking are at tour companies -- rhodes, tauck,etc-- because are old now. Sad, I know. They do greatest hits-- opera houses and 'roos I hear.

I wish RS would do an Australia tour. Maybe if I misspell it as "Austria" he can help out, huh?

Posted by
759 posts

David - I'm just mentioning this in case you prefer independent travel. Ignore if not the case.

I had several solo trips to Australia just before Covid hit. I didn't want to rent a car without a navigator, so did it all with day tours or and transport companies operating shuttle buses. There was a lot available to get outside of city bases - many more options than I typically see in the US or Europe. Flying within the country is simple, as are train routes. Within cities and even smaller towns, I used taxi and Uber as well as public transport.

You may find a tour to your liking, but I was easily able to follow through on some of my "specialized" interests that most tour companies wouldn't accommodate.

Enjoy the planning! There are so many options - I have at least 2 more trips fully outlined!

Posted by
211 posts