Please sign in to post.

Armenia

Researching info for a trip to Armenia. If anyone has visited, would appreciate your input. My wife and I are seniors and prefer to travel on our own. Since we do not read the language we will not be renting a car. Thinking about staying in Yerevan and hiring private car for various day trips. Have ordered 2 guidebooks from Amazon as our local Barnes and Noble bookstore has none. I guess Armenia is not a hot destination. Would like to see as much of the country as possible. I am a photographer so I like to spend time at each site to get 'the picture'. Is 21 days ample time? Any recommendations for a private driver/guide? Any advice will be appreciated.

Posted by
6788 posts

I guess Armenia is not a hot destination.

And this is one reason why it is also high on my list of next places to check out.

Can't offer much advice here other than suggesting 21 days sounds awesome (more than I'm likely to be able to dedicate). From what I've seen and read (admittedly, it's not very well covered), there's plenty to see and do. And a target-rich environment for photos.

I'd be careful about going to the south and any border area - also worth following news of the region from a reliable source (I see lots of crazy "news" sites that look like they're outlets for Russian disinformation bots, so view anything online with some skepticism).

Please post updates about your progress.

Posted by
1556 posts

Do a search in the archives - there have been a few posts about Armenia.

It has been almost 8 years since I went there so most of my information will be old. Some of the places we went to:
Yerevan including the cathedral area, etc. - did a free walking tour of the city with Envoy tours.
Did a day trip to Gagni and Geghard.

Stopped by Khor Virap and Norovank on the way to Goris where we overnighted. Visited Devil's bridge, took the "wings over Tatev" cable car and visited Tatev monastery.